justnick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

For your perusal...

First? This is the best thing ever.

Second? On an unrelated note--and in the spirit of open letters--a message to those of you out there who like to stroll into a store two minutes before it closes, on behalf of everyone who has ever worked retail before: go fuck yourselves. Preferably with something pointy. And infectious.

Third? I saw a documentary on sport hunting the other day, and it really freaked me out. I try to keep an open mind, but I still just feel like it's wrong. Follow me on this one.

I understand the urge to track and observe animals in their habitat; become a photographer.

I understand the urge to line up a shot and feel the force of it; go to a gun range.

I understand that some people have to kill to eat; that's not recreational.

I also understand that humans are programmed to kill, and that we would not have survived past the ice age without said urge; play some paintball, or some football, or a video game, or take up a martial art.

But recreationally killing things for fun, I don't get. And I don't like the "population control" argument, either. If an animal's population gets so wildly out of control that it's endangering the ecosystem, let's distribute some birth control, not start throwing death parties. I mean seriously, we prop up their dead bodies and take pictures, you guys. That is seriously a thing that we do, as a species. Imagine if someone did that to a dog or a monkey? You'd think they were a freaking serial killer! And if you absolutely, positively need to feel the thrill of the kill, then fucking grow a pair and go knife and/or bow hunting. Give the thing a fighting chance, at least. It should be a contest between predator and prey, not a carefully premeditated assassination. Traps and guns, unless you're killing for survival of course, are for pussies. Well, and soldiers. And action heroes. They're allowed too.

9:12 p.m. - 2010-07-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sunstargirl
funktastique
entragian
ljd
beelucky
jademercy7
Kelsi
mastrbateme