justnick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ca, c'est un party, tabarwette

BGM: "Mercy Mercy Me" - Marvin Gaye

I remember I was walking alone to the back of the bus, to sit with my sister, when I saw Luca and Nico, my second cousins. Or rather, they spotted me. They called and waved and begged me to sit with them, and frankly I'm not that hard to convince. So there I sat, Nico to my left and Luca on my lap, while they told me about everything in their little worlds. At that particular moment, I missed the simplicity of my seven to ten year old microcosym. Those two impressed me with their intelligence the entire ride to the reception. We were at my cousin's wedding, in Denver, and Nico and Luca are 10 and 7, respectively. Upon seeing the "Executive towers", Nico exclaimed "I betcha I know who owns THAT building..." confused, I asked him who he was reffering to. "Bush." he exclaimed, sounding as much a disgruntled old man past his heyday as a 10 year old youth. Can you tell he's related to me? Luca, immediately afterwards, cried excitedly, "Look, a Boxter!" He was right, it was a boxter. I was about to say "Very good, Luca." with false--though hopefully convincing--enthusiasm, when he proceeded to tell me every possible spec of a Boxter you could ever want to know, and several you most likely wouldn't. I was impressed. It was then that I noticed a lot of people were smiling at my rapport with my two little buds, so I looked around, to point out to Nico that he was a celebrity. Thats when I saw her. She had light brown hair, a caring face, and eyes that made me forget my name. Her dress was just sheer enough, and just the right balance of tight and loose, that it was difficult not to stare at the way her hips curved into her stomach. I decided I would talk to her.

A few hours later, my extended family wanted very much that I would come join the party on the dance floor. (say what you will about French Canadians, but no one parties like we do) Not wanting to let them down, I downed a few of the complimentary martinis and local brews. (Flat tire is awesome if you're ever in Denver, by the by) I danced with my family, and had a nearly perfect time. My mother, my cousins, and I OWNED that dance floor. And then she came along, all but speaking the challenge aloud. The band took a break, and I made a point to talk to the band leader, as is my habit, and learn his name. It was 'Tiny'. I noticed her on the dance floor, alone, waiting for the band to come back. I downed the rest of my martini (shaken, not stirred)and walked up to her. I could hear her brothers and sisters giggling behind me. "Hi." I said. "Hi." she replied.

So far so good.

"I'm Nick. I'm not from around here, so I'm going to be leaving soon, and I don't think I could ever forgive myself if I didn't at least ask for a dance." She smiled. She actually smiled. It was good she didnt ask a question just then, because I don't think I could have answered. If the eyes made me forget my name, the smile made me forget to breathe. "I'm Megan." SHe said. She told me at one point, "I wish they would play tequilla," so me, being the industrious youth that I am, decided to show off a little. "Hey Tiny!" I shouted happily. "Nick! What's up, man?" He replied with a grin, ready to accept any tips that might be flying his way. "Can you play me Tequilla?"

"For you, man? Anything." I assumed it was maybe the tenth time he had said those exact words that night. Well, he played it, and she was impressed. I was satisfied. We held hands and talked until 10:30am the next day, give or take a few hours of sleep in the middle. Her parents were wary of me, but they always are. I use that memory when I really need a smile. I hope I see her again some day.

I don't know why I told you that story, but if you wanted to be reading anything of substance, you could have gone out and bought a book, you lazy cheap bastard. Excelsior.

7:16 p.m. - 2003-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sunstargirl
funktastique
entragian
ljd
beelucky
jademercy7
Kelsi
mastrbateme