justnick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Siddown, honey, Chiffon gon' sing fuh'ya

BGM: "Suddenly Seymour" - Howard Ashman with Allan Menkin, as performed by the New Broadway Cast

Everywhere I look, melodrama. I'm really getting rather sick of it, and anyone who knows me will tell you that I didn't have much patience for it in the first place. People, your problems are not that bad. You'll survive. And if you don't, then they won't be bothering you anymore, now will they? So you might as well have a good time, no? I mean, news flash: in a thousand years, you'll be dead and no one will remember you or your problems. So why waste your energy? Is no one smiling just for the hell of it and rolling with the punches and shrugging off problems anymore?

OK, well, now that that's over with, on to New York. Well, not on to New York because I just came back, but you know what I mean. OK, so I got to see Little Shop on Broadway. I wasn't born yet when the last one went on, so I missed it, and they massacred the poor man's work in the movie, so I was excited. Supposedly Ellen was mad that she didn't get asked to play Audrey again, despite the fact that she's like 53 now. According to my mom she was a rather egotistical lady, but like it or not, she really was Audrey. But I digress.

The show was AMAZING. Best show I've seen on Broadway bar none, and I've seen quite a few. I may be biased cause I know the guy who created it, but... it's Howard's work, man. Everything he wrote was un-freaking-believably good. So funny, and so touching and yet somehow unpretentious. Go get the soundtrack. Now. Plus, since we know Sarah, the woman who has the rights to all of Howard's stuff, we got to sit in the press seats, the best ones in the house. That woman's house is unbelievable. She basically doesn't have to work a day in her life from the royalties fromHoward's work, ans no one deserves it more than her, I suppose. Still,though.... you should have seen this house. It blurs the line between house and mansion, I must say. Indoor pool. And seeing Oscars and Grammys and Golden records and stuff on the shelves kinda messed with my head, too. Howard, you inspire me like no one else does. You were a genious.

I ate more good food, and drank more expensive hooch this weekend than I have in the last.... well, the last long-ass time.

"I keep asking god what I'm for, and he tells me 'gee, I'm not sure'..." Aaaaaaah, mercy. You were a god, man. Excelsior.

9:59 p.m. - 2003-11-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sunstargirl
funktastique
entragian
ljd
beelucky
jademercy7
Kelsi
mastrbateme