justnick's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not picky

BGM: "I Don't Want to Set the World on Fire" - The Inkspots

I don't believe in an afterlife. Like a lot of people, I think heaven and hell come in little chunks. A lifetime of worries, pleasures, and pains, all add up to something like purgatory. I worry a lot. I worry about silly things that haven't affected my life for years, and big things that I'm not type A enough to do anything about. I have plenty of stresses, after all. Work, school, bills, the ever too complex mating ritual we all put ourselves through. Homework to do tomorrow, Visa to pay off, still womanless. All that stuff. But I take my little pieces of paradise where I can get them. I have a fancy imported beer, a beautiful guitar, and a DVD to watch. I think the afterlife, if there was one for me, would look a lot more like that. No undefinable pleasures. No endless stream of virgins. Even pleasure needs moderation or it loses some of its luster. I think the real paradise would be contentment, not ecstasy. Not that I'd say no to an eternity of scuba diving in coral reefs with Jolene Blalock and a talking monkey, though. I'll take whatever heaven they've got on special. Excelsior.

1:38 a.m. - 2009-03-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

sunstargirl
funktastique
entragian
ljd
beelucky
jademercy7
Kelsi
mastrbateme